There are three options for checking to see if your license is suspended.
In California, if you are arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI), then the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will issue a notice that your license will be suspended unless you contest the suspension at a hearing. Additionally, if you are convicted of or plead guilty to a DUI in criminal court, the judge will suspend your license as part of your sentence.
The length of the suspension will depend on the facts of your DUI case. A first-time misdemeanor DUI conviction will result in a suspension for 6 months. A felony DUI may lead to a license suspension for several years. While you may still be able to drive by obtaining a restricted license or through the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID), that will not change the underlying suspension.
When your license is suspended for a California DUI, it is not automatically reinstated. As a DUI attorney in San Bernardino, CA can explain, you will need to take several steps in order to get your license reinstated.
If you drive with a suspended license, you may be charged with a criminal offense. This misdemeanor crime is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and $1,000 in fines. In addition, your license suspension may be extended.
For these reasons, it is important to check the status of your license before getting behind the wheel again. You can do this in three ways: (1) online on the California DMV website; (2) in-person at a DMV office; or (3) by mailing a form (INF 1125) to the DMV office. There is a fee of between $2 and $5 for checking the status of your license.
You will need to submit certain information to the DMV to check your license status. Depending on how you obtain the information, this may include your driver’s license or ID number, phone number, date of birth, and the last 4 digits of your Social Security Number.
When you check the status of your license, you will see any record of serious driving-related convictions for the past 3, 7 or 10 years; any DMV actions against your license; and (3) any record of vehicle accidents that were reportable under California’s Vehicle Code. In this way, you can see if your license is still suspended — or if you completed the steps necessary to get your license fully reinstated.
A driver’s license suspension is just one of the many potential penalties associated with a California DUI conviction. Not being allowed to drive can be a serious inconvenience — and will cost you thousands of dollars in insurance charges for years after your conviction. For this reason, it is important to hire a DUI attorney in San Bernardino, CA to help defend you against DUI charges.
The Chambers Law Firm is dedicated to representing Californians who have been charged with a range of crime, including DUIs. We will work tirelessly to protect your rights and defend your freedom. To learn more or to schedule a free case evaluation, contact us at 855-397-0210 or email@example.com.